Newbies In Real Estate Investing

Hi, I’ve been investing for a short amount of time and kind of brand new to the whole idea of investing. I have heard some ups and downs in this game. I was wondering if some of you all who have been investing for awhile tell me what it is that makes most new investors like myself fail in investing in Real Estate and what concerns should I have starting out?

By the way, i’m in California and it’s nice to meet you all.

Mark :shocked

hey mark im a newbie myself but one thing is that alot of investors make a move towards going full-time thinking there ready when there not.its always good to have a second income to cover any unexpected costs.so having a fall back job or alternative income is king.you will find that theres a load of investors that still have a 9-5.plus a lack of exit stratedgies for your particular field of REI, not being able to get out of a bad deal can sometimes scar you for a long time but it all comes down to sticking it out and not giving up.(the more no’s you get the closer you are to a yes.) hope that helped some with me being new and all.lol

PS. your network determines your networth… :biggrin

Hey Thanks Chuck. So what have you learned or anyone in this matter has helped in what exit strategy to choose? I mean, do no money down deals really work like I have read about? What in the world are transactional fundings and how do you pull those off?

Mark,
What type of investing do you want to do (buy & hold for rental, flip, rehab/resell, etc)? I think one of the biggest mistakes new investors make is thinking everything is a good investment. I just looked at an ad today where a Realtor offered 5 “cash flowing investments.” Each was a rented SFH for sale. The asking price was 100 times the monthly rental amount (or the gross rent was 1% of the asking price…just another way to look at it). These houses would be horrible investments. The rent is way to low for the asking price.