Newbie - what docs HML need?

Hi Everybody! :slight_smile:

I am new to real estate investing and this could be my first deal so I am really excited about it. I have located a property in Atlanta and am planning on getting hard money to buy it. After reading few great articles here I still have some questions about how it works.

I am self emloyed in a cash-and-carry business. My personal credit is not the best. From reading here I understand that HML is the best option for rehab. What documents do they usually require to get 60% to 90% LTV?

Most HML’s loan based on the equity in a property. And ussually around 70%LTV. As far as I know most arenot that concerned with the credit or position of the buyer just the property itself, J

Thank you for responding. ;D
The reason I’ve asked is because I’ve tried to fill out an online application for HML and they are asking SSN, credit score, bank statements, etc…
I have another question, probably a silly one… 70% LTV - does it ALWAYS mean loan to AFTER REPAIR value?

Most HMLs work off After Repaired Value, but not all. Many HMLs will ask for credit but do not pull credit. The loans are asset based. As determined by the ARV of the property.

Rob

Ok, here is a description of my possible first deal… ;D I’ve located a property in Georgia. It is a duplex, first unit 5 beds/2 baths, second unit 2beds/1bath. Owner asks 60.000$, willing to finance. List price is around 85.000$. Property is currently under contract with kickout clause.
I need an advice from someone with experience on how to go about it.

[]Should I use owner financing or HML? I’m not planning to keep the property
[
]In state of Georgia, can I do all rehab work myself or do I need someone with permits?
[*]If I use HML, do I make payments on loan itself or only on interest?

Thank you guys! :slight_smile:

Howdy Shotoclay: