Newbie Scenario

Friday, September 12, 2008

Hello Everyone!

This is my first time posting. Below is my current situation. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

My background:
I am located in Northern California and I am new to real estate investing. I am currently educating myself so I can invest in self-storage and lease-option deals. My other goals are single-family residential homes and then eventually apartment units.

Here is my scenario:
My mom owns a couple properties and recently tenants have moved out of one of her single-family residential homes.

She did not want to deal with locating new tenants and fixing up the house since it is 1.5 hours away. She agreed to give me the property if I fix it up and find tenants. I painted it myself and put new carpet in and now I have one of my friends living it. I now have a grasp of the payments. No profit is being made but no money is coming out of my pocket each month. I have been handling the payments of property for 2 months now.

Here is my question:
I plan on investing in my own properties in the near future, should I put the house in my name?

I am not sure if that would look good or bad on my financial statement, since there is still a mortgage of $185,000. If I applied for a loan for another property would that debt limit me or would the property be used as leverage?

Side-Note:
In a year and a half my friend is going to move out and I plan on using it as an assisted living property (it is currently licensed for 6 rooms).

Thank you in advance!

Jeff