Newbie questions

Ok, I’m a newbie wholesaler and naturally I have a few questions. I want to make sure I know the ins and outs before I actually go out and get a house under contract. If an issue arises that I have no idea how to solve, I don’t want to end up looking like an idiot.

1. How can a wholesaler use a realtor for leads? I’m very unclear on how realtors get paid and if they charge anything for certain services. For example, if I called a realtor to get general information about the area such as home values and such, is there a charge for this information? I know realors are a good source for getting to know the area, just not sure how.

2. How do I find out whether certain states require certain contracts? I’m in PA and I’ve gotten several different contracts to use from ebooks and such, but how do I know if I can use them legally in my state? Is there a certain state form that I have to use or will a generic one suffice?

3. What is the best way to know whether you have a deal? I know that we’re looking for homes that are around 40-60% of their ARV (correct me if I’m wrong). Once I have the asking price, the ARV, and the estimated cost of repairs, what do I do with these numbers to make sure there’s still enough room for my buyers to profit? Do I need more information?

If someone could help me out, I’d greatly appreciate it. :help

Don’t worry too much about how others perceive you… If an issue arises that you have no idea how to solve you go ask some people with more experience than you. If you try to know everything there is to know before you get started you will never get started. I am pretty sure even the most experienced investors come across things they have no idea how to solve… :O)