Newbie questions & background

My wife and I are interested in investing in real estate, but am not sure where to start.

First, some quick background info on us – We live in the Boston area, are in our mid to late twenties and have about $100k in liquid capital. We are looking to invest about $30-40k of the money to start investing in property. We both have 700+ credit scores. My wife has her RE license but has yet to work in the industry (I’m not sure if that gives us an advantage or not) and I am an accountant. I have experience with home improvement so a little construction here or there won’t be a problem. However, seeing as my wife and I both have day jobs, we wouldn’t have too much time fixing up a home.

Also, we just found a REI club in our area so we are going to attend the next seminar.

Now that you have some background info on us, here are our questions:

1. What types of investments should we be looking for - i.e. multi-unit rentals, flips, foreclosures, etc.
  2. Where do people find these properties that are selling at a discount? Are they regular MLS properties or do you have to subscribe to a foreclosure listing?
  3. I’m sure there will be some bias to this question, but what types of RE investments seems like a good place to start for us?
  4. How do we know if a property is selling at a discount?
  5. Any other suggestions/ideas that could help us would be appreciated.

Thanks

Probably all these questions can be answered by experienced investors at REI club. It’s a great place to start. When I first started I had many of the same questions. I did a lot of reading but 1st hand experiences from other investors was the most helpful. good luck.

Types of real estate and methods of investing in real estate are as varied as the stars in the heavens. You need to get clear on what your GOAL is first. I mean get really clear - have dollar amounts and time line.

For example:
Goal #1 to own our primary residence free and clear