Newbie question. How do you get a seller to sell their home at a big discount?

Hi everybody. I am brand new to the real estate investment business. My million dollar question is this:
What do you say to a homeowner to pursuade them to sell you their property at a big discount? ;D

There is nothing you say. You need to build a good report with the seller, take an interest in them. It’s all about relationships. Also, the seller has to be motivated and need to sell. If the sale is not urgent than why would they take a huge discount?

Like tcwood said, you got to get to know the owners.

Find properties with the right things wrong…that very well could be the owners also. (divorce,loss of job, estate,green foot fugus, allergic to painting…whatever)

Who said you have to buy at a huge discount?

Your asking $200K for your house.

OK…I’ll buy it at FULL price.
payments as follows:
$1000 per month for 200 months. (~16.5 yrs)

I’d do those deals Everyday of the week. It just comes down to “What are they going to do with the money after they sell?” Make it attractive for them. Maybe they won’t do the full amount, find out how much they NEED and work around that.

Happy investing

Hi I’m a new investor and sorry if this is a dumb question, but if you pay full price ($1000 for 16.5 years as your example) how would you be able to make $ on it? If you try to rent it out you wont get $1000 month, if you try to flip it you’d only get max the full amount you paid minus repairs, holding costs.

Remeber that if you purchase a SF for a rental most investor will not rent out hte property for less than 1% of purchase price. this property should rent for 2k month depending on the market it is in.

On a deal where you pay “full price” in installments, you’re not actually paying full price.

If you look at the Time Value of Money TVM, you realize that you’re paying WAY less than full price because you are allowed to do it in installments.