newbie needs exit strategy for duped deal

Greetings,

I am a newbie and I wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions on how to get out of the deal I made. My loan is with New Century.

Last year I purchased a house through a supposed “mentor” for 198k with a Section 8 tenant. I get $700 total, and the mortgage difference is $1,100. I need to sell it because I can’t afford the mortgage. The 36k I got back I ued to pay the mortgage. No repairs have been done to the 1950’s house.

The appraisal was grossly inflated. It shoudl have been for 165k.

The tenant wants her boyfriend to buy it. He can possibly qualify for 95k-100k.

Now the market in the area has mostly foreclosures selling at 85k-95k. Some are for sale @ 145k.

I thought of a lease purchase but @ what price and how much down? At this point I can’t afford to pay 98k out right to get rid of it.

So, you were FORCED to take out the loan?

Why did you take on a rental when the rents were $1100 less than the mortgage?!?!?!?

Sorry to hear of this dilema. If you try to do a lease purchase, try to get $5000 down and hopefully a rent closer to $1000/month. The purchase price should be whatever you can get.

Unfortunately it sounds like you trusted someone who ended up selling a bad deal. Hopefully you can minimize your losses, but it’s a tough one.

WOW! And I though people were trying to sell me a raw deal a few times. My advise to you is Take a deep breath, call an attorney and call the seller “mentor” and explain to him that if he does not buy the property back willingly he may be forced to buy it back after he gets out of the cross bar motel. May not work but its worth a try.

Thank you for all of your comments.

No, I was not forced to get the loan. I did not intend to play the victim. I am very clear of my role/responsibility in this situation. I read information on http://ml-implode.com/ that referenced victims of sub prime loans and used this language to convey that I had a mortgage with New Century.