Newbie needs advice on 1st deal

Hello All,

I’m a newbie who after studying and reading all of the boards for about a year now is ready to invest. I’ve been looking for discounted properties, but I’ve decided that for now, don’t want to look at 100 properties, before I find one to buy, so I’ve changed my strategy.

I’m looking to start out buying 1- to 4-family homes that I can rent that produce a cash flow of at least $200 a month. I want to acquire a minimum of four properties a year for the next five years and have just gotten an offer accepted on a fully renovated 3 bedroom, 1 ½ bath SFH for $75K. Houses in the area rent for between $900-$950 a month, so the property meets my criteria.

I’m looking for advice on whether I should rent out to Section 8 (I’ve just signed up with them as a landlord), whether I should put an ad in the paper and rent out, or should I do a lease option. My strategy for the next couple of years is to buy and hold and use the profit to begin doing rehabs, but would a lease option be the more profitable route?

Although I do not rent Section 8, I am a member of the South Jersey Investor’s Real Estate club and keep tabs on many who do work with Section 8 via the club’s web based 'listserv". A current ongoing discussion is the lack of checks for the past several months from the government for their Section 8 rentals. Numerous inquiries to the associated government offices have resulted in nothing more than promises that the payments will be “coming soon”. If you can’t swallow 3 to 4 months of mortage payments while waiting for the government to send you the checks then you should avoid Section 8 like the plague.

According to the discussion threads, this is relatively commonplace.

jmd_forest

NJ Investor,