Newbie needs advice because of Job loss

Newbie here from Washington State saying hello to all of the Real Estate Investors here. I just got a notice today saying that my technology job is moving to India and I have approx 30 days left until I am unemployed. The job market here in this location is difficult to put it lightly so I am going to focus my efforts on Real Estate Investing. I understand that it’s a difficult task to become an Investor in 30 days.
This is something that I didn’t just wake up and say “Yeah I want to” I have been going to courses for over 2 years but fear has caused me to stay on the sidelines and watch. I watched the RE boom and Bust and I watched all of the Subs go for those ARM loans and default. I realize that the market changes very quickly so I want to be ready to change plans when the need arises. If I don’t become a Real Estate Investor then my family will suffer financially and I could never forgive myself for the situation that I am in.

So the question is: What would be a recommended technique to start out for a person with no reserve capital yet? Any help would be appreciated!! thanks

RealEstateLion,

The very first thing you need to do is find another job. Starting a REI business (or any other business) when you’re unemployed is VERY difficult. Starting a successful REI business when you are unemployed and have no reserve capital is nearly impossible. If you were afraid to start a REI business when you were employed, then you should be TERRIFIED now.

Get another job and then think about starting a REI business.

Good Luck,

Mike

let’s see…no job, no money and no experience…and we’re going into the worst RE market in a decade or more. This is just a very, very bad idea.

REI does not pay out like a job: deals allows take longer than expected (or fall apart), you have unexpected expense or just don’t make money.

So tell me how you are going to eat when you have no immediate income? I’ll concur with the others, get a job.