newbie ? How effective are the We Buy Houses..

How effective are the “We buy houses” ads that people place in the newspaper?
Every week I see about 10 of them in there and they all say the same thing…“We buy houses, fast closings, any condition etc…” and their all right in a row. Nothing seperates them appart from each other.
I’m wondering what type of response rate people normally get from these ads?
It seems to me that the people that are most likely to look at these ads or respond to them are people that are looking to sell…aka FSBO’s…and other investors looking to wholesale…not people in forclosure,which is who I’m looking to cater to.
Wouldn’t it be more effective to place an ad that says something like “STOP FORCLOSURE, SAVE YOUR CREDIT” OR “STOP FORCLOSURE, KEEP YOUR HOME”…These seem to be more targeted to specifically who I would be looking to get a response from…

any feedback I could get is appreciated. I’m new to this and have been looking for a house to buy for about a month now and have actually located a few that where pre forclosure w/ lots of equity in decent shape, but I didnt get a response from the letters I sent. I’ve not done a mass mailing to all the lis pendens yet. I’m only sending letters to those who have lots of equity in good parts of town…so that kinda narrows it down a good bit.

thanks for the help!

I did not get many calls from the bandit signs (I only hung about 50) but I have gotten calls from my newspaper ad. I have not closed anything yet becasue of the ad but I am sure it will come. The only problem with the newspaper is that it really is a little expensive.
I think we are going to need a mix of newspaper, bandit signs, post cards to a “farm area” and creative letters.

So, how come bars stock all those beers on TAP? All there side by side, but they are all beer? Why not just have Miller? Why Bud, Guinness, Miller Lite, Sam Adams, etc?