newbie here

I am new to investing, so please indulge me for a moment.

I will be receiving an inheritance by the end of the year. I would like to purchase some residential real estate and get into the market. However, I am new to investing. Can anyone advise me as to how to get into the market with minimal risk. I will have a good amount of capital to work with but I dont want to risk it…Is flipping better then holding? I am not sure I want to be a landlord. Also when purchasing, should I use my cash or finance it? I am not sure I want to tie up precious capital. Perhaps use it only as the down payment. Should I partner with a mentor or go at it alone? Any thoughts would be very helpful! thanks angela

Angela,

First, before beginning, you should decide which niche of investing suits you best/intersts you most. You will be one step ahead having some capital to use.

I personally buy outright for the lowest amount I can get the property for, rehab as necessary, get a new appraisal, and then refi to get my capital back out – then, as the shampoo bottle says, “rinse and repeat”…I still work full time at a ‘grown-up job’…

If you are really new, I would suggest NOT using large amounts of your capital. Use OPM (other people’s money) to the maximum extent that you can and fill the gap with your capital.

As a beginner, you might try bird dogging, graduate to flipping, and then decide where you want to go.

If you can find a solid mentor, by ALL MEANS get one! I would suggest the local REI club if there is one in your area…if not try to network with other investors.

My two cents (before taxes, of course),

Keith

Hi Angela! If I were you I would consider doing some private money deals. Since you have capital you can finance short term deals. You can finance downpayments, flips, wholesale deals, and the like.

Thanks for the helpful replies!