Newbie Here... Need Advice. .. Striving for Financial Freedom

Hello Everyone,
I hope that I’m posting in the right place, if not please direct me to where I need to be. Also, if my topic has been discussed before, please direct me to how I can find related topics.

I’m so new at this that the only property I own is the one I reside in. I’m a single mother in VA, and I’m striving for financial freedom, which I can’t achieve working for someone else.

Here goes:
After spending days on this site, I’ve decided that buying and holding (renting) seems to be the way to go right now. Agreed?
Here’s my situation. I have decent credit. I had my credit pulled last week and my middle score was 673. I pay my bills on time, but I don’t make lots of money, so I def need a stated income loan. And I don’t have any funds for repairs. I need everything financed in the loan. I was thinking going with the HML companies to purchase and rehab, then refi with a conventional loan (unless the HML will loan for terms between 24-36 months.) after rehabbing is complete. How does this sound?

I apologize for my terminology or lack there of. Like I said, I’m as new to this as you can get, but I’ve got to make some changes. I’m looking for any and all advice, suggestions, and help for the newest of new investor. I’m also interested in obtaining a mentor.
Oh, I’m also a licensed Real Estate Agent, but I do hold a full time job as well as a Part time job. It sucks, but I have to do it!!

Welcome tjnva. You plan sound like it will work. I generally use the same loan that you are talking about. I think the minimum credit score is 660 for that kind of loan you are ok there. But I don’t know about stated income loans anymore. In May I know you could get one. I am not sure about now.