newbie has questions on funding

This is very helpful information. I am new to REI and am trying to purchase my first property. I am putting together an exit strategey. I agree that doing nothing at all is a big mistake. I had many opportunities in the UK before the properties sky rocketed but did nothing and missed some really good deals.

I always feel that I lack the knowledge to proceed with any REI but I am taking the first step to buy a house that has been on the market for a short time, it is listed at $1,175,000. It started out at $1,400,000 two years ago. Can anyone tell me if this is too risky. My exit strategy is to buy it and run one of my businesses there and resale in the spring of next year, hopefully turn over 150,000 profit.

Also, there is another one in this very desirable area, been on the market for 3 years, it started out at $1,400,000 as well but I may be able to get it for $825,000 and resale it in 18months. Would I be able to get funding for these projects?

Linday,
Those are some really big numbers for a first purchase. Where are you located? Do you have financing plans in place?

Furnishedowner

A neophyte investor will, in my opinion, have a difficult time optaining funding for properties in these price ranges - especially if it is commercial and/or you don’t have a lo of money to put into the transaction. Not to say that it can’t be done but I’ll bet there is a difficulty factor…

Keith

For a 1st time investor this is not a good strategy, I tell new investors to start out with smaller loans from 60,000 to 150,000. A property that they can sell quickly and move to the next. If you are looking to buy and hold you should look at buying a duplex or 4 plex for cash flow purposes. The homes that you speak about in your post have been on the market for 3 years, that itself should tell you they are not moving and will be dificult to move.