Newbie and have a possible deal, but no idea what to do

I’m a total newbie. They say just go out and sign up a contract, so here I’m handed this deal and don’t even know what to do with it.

I was looking for a place to rent, well this one was out of my price range but they included a line that said lease to own, so I called him on it and said would he consider $4,000 down and drop his lease to own amount down to $1400 per month? My thinking was if he would even consider it then we could talk details. He’s had a renter now moving out and it sounds like he fears having to make the mortgage without a renter paying? So he said come out and see if you’d even be interested.
HELP!!!
Well that gave him time to figure out his finances in the meantime and decided he needs to have $1750, but would certainly considerin selling it outright for $380,000. It’s a two bed two bath condo in Aliso Viejo, CA. Very nice neighborhood, I wouldn’t mind living in. I can’t get regular financing. I called up the comps there were 2 foreclosures in the area one sold for $345K, and one sold for $325K. All other properties sold over $425K+.
HELP?
I don’t know if this would be a nice flip or should I try the lease option deal 'cuz I need a place to live in the OC for another 3 years and then sell it. Only problem is he wants a quick deal, like before he has to make the next mortgage payment without a renter in there. And he’ll only do the lease option for a year and would hope I refinance the thing by the end of the year term? Again, I don’t think I’ll be in the position even by that time, unless I start making some deals myself.

Can you read between the lines? :banghead

Any ideas or suggestions?

If you can handle the monthly mortgage payments and the HOA fees, how about just taking over his mortgage loan? Purchase the property “subject to” the existing financing. No down payment. Just start paying the owner’s mortgage payments once you have the deed in your name.