New to the Boards - NJ area

Good evening!

I am a true beginner - I have spent the past week reading and reading and reading book after website after forum!

Here is some background on me: my husband and I have decided to enter this wonderful world of real estate investing because we have a passion for real estate, rehabbing, and of course, money. Anyways, we are both young professionals approaching our thirties with a plethora of things to bring to the table - he is an attorney and I am a project manager. We reside in southern NJ where the market is actually quite bleak right now. Our plan is to form an LLC next year. We have impeccable credit and currently own our own home which we bought last year. I already bought and sold a condo in 2001 (I wish I had held onto that one!!). We have a few connections here and there and are assembling our contacts into a master team.

I am looking to network with people in New Jersey and I am certainly willing to investigate potential partnerships. Additionally, I wouldn’t mind working with a birddog in the area.

In sum, we’re young, determined, eager, smart, and skilled and need guidance! So hello!

Welcome!

You are on the right track of gaining as much knowledge as possible. These forums are a great source of information and the best part is that you do not have to look far for the answers to your questions.

Just ask and i am sure that one of the members will have the answer, which will save you tons of research.

Good Luck! :beer:

Thank you so much! Actually here are a few basic questions I have been pondering:

If you are in a cool/soft market, what is the best type of property to purchase/invest in? What do you think is the best first investment (besides the house we’re living in) - especially in this type of market?