New to REI

Hi guys I’m new to REI and I’m considering doing some pre-construction in order to get my feet wet, will you share any of your experiences with it and what should I be looking for?

Thanks ahead,
RL

Real estate investing and building are two different things. I don’t know your background… but, If you don’t have any experience in business or real estate… I doubt that building would be the place the start.

Hi Ralora. By “pre-construction” do you mean buying in brand new developments? I started that way about a year ago and have 3 properties now, all brand new homes. You just have to be very careful about selecting the right area.

What are you going to do with the homes once you purchase them? Are you planning on renting them out or do you want to be one of the first in the development and sell it after the series of price increases the builder has? Our (my husband and I) goal was to build long term wealth by keeping them for a while and renting them out. We could easily have sold them in a matter of months and made a very nice profit. We did a lot of market research and selected great areas. It helped that we have a wonderful real estate agent who has worked in the area for about 20 years and really knows what she is doing.

Buying pre-construction has given us a great amount of education on conventional lenders and mortgages, the paperwork involved in loans and closing a deal, and what actually goes into the building of the house. We also learned that there are “professionals” out there who are anything but.

I would recommend doing all the research you can. Find a good real estate agent and use all of his/her knowledge. My husband and I are now looking into more short term investing for a balance and I have found that our experiences with pre-construction have given us a head start in our education but it is very different than other types of investing.

Good Luck!

David & Jeniffer, thanks for your replies.