new to rei but have my first lead

hello I am very new to rei. I have already purchased a course but it hasn’t arrived yet. I have a lead on a property that needs paint windows and carpet. As far as I know seller has just begun looking into selling. Without any course to help me how should I approach seller and what info should I ask for. I have a investor that can close quickly( I spoke to him once only).
Should I contact seller directly and then do my due diligence.
Or should I just hand the lead over. would that be a good way to get in good with investor.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I’m going for it all!
Thank You.

WHAT SHOULD YOU DO?? It depends on your financial position and your credit scores. Have ever gotten pre-approved for a mortgage? Do you want to purchase the property and rehab, or sell to an investor for a fee. The ability to make money in this industry is knowing (the day you buy) what you can sell for. You make your money when you BUY.

IF YOU ARE SERIOUS ABOUT REAL ESTATE INVESTING…WORK WITH AN EXPERIENCED MORTGAGE PROFESSIONAL. That person can groom you into an investor.

Hi RTRP:
You don’t haved to worry about getting a loan or purchasing the property as suggested in the above post…

This is what you do. You approach the seller and use the following acrononym:

-W- hat is the propery the worth?
-O- How much do you owe?
-W- How much do you want?

You can then take it from there… Ask him the famous line:
“If I could pay cash and close quickly, what would be the lowest you would take”?

If you can get a the seller to let you buy it at a low price, then you may be able to ‘wholesale’ it to another investor…

-Get your purchase contract signed
-Open escrow as an ‘assignment’
-Find your ‘wholesale’ buyer, collect your fee and ‘assign’ your escrow to him or her.
-Contact escrow and let them know you are ‘assigning’ the escrow.