New to Real Estate

Hi folks. I’m new to Real Estate. I’m looking to learn about Real Estate investing, but looking to purchase my first home before aquiring any investment properties. I found a property locally that is a possibility for purchase, and was wondering if I found a good deal. After researching the property info, it turns out it is listed at $115,000, but the 2006 property appraisal is set at over $150,000 (up from $137,000 a year ago). If I were to purhase this property, would I have a better chance at gaining financing because of the huge difference in the appraisal value? And would this mean I would have nearly $35,000 in equity from the get-go? The county records list the owner as a Bank in California. Is this property a foreclosure? While looking for my first home I’m practicing using all of these resources to put to use in finding deals for imvestment properties. Is this one of those deals? Thanks.

if it says that a bank owns it, yes it is a foreclosed property.

depending on your local market there, the tax appraised value of the land and structure, could be more or less. what does the local market suggest? what are similiar houses going for in that area?

if market suggests 150k value - then that’s pretty good (over 20% below market). for your personal home, that’s a really good start.

you cannot rely on county tax records alone. you have to get the market info. a good realtor can furnish a CMA on the property to give you an idea of the value. make sure the CMA is tight too. sometimes a realtor can really give you crappy data. Comparative Market Analysis = CMA…

I agree with TMCG. To define crappy, your agent needs to compare like properties (size overall all look age and construction techniques) and they need to be from the same area. You also don’t want sell datat aht is over a year old.

Where are you located?