New to Investing

Hi I’m new to the investing world and have been studying for about 1 month. Networking at local real estate clubs, and talking to as many people as i can about different areas of investing. I am married with 4 children and work a full time job. My wife is getting here RE license to help us get mls access. We have managed to save a nest egg of about 70,000 (which to me is not much with 4 kids). That’s what I’m going to use to invest with. Any way my plan is to become the best real estate investor i can be. What can i do to build my bank roll, i am very motivated and have a lot of free time during the day, i work at night and only require about 5 hours of sleep a day. I really want to be a buy and hold investor, but with the capitol that I’m starting with, it doesn’t seem like ill be able to be primarily buy and hold, and be able to build my bank roll as quickly as i want it to grow. What would you do if you were in my shoes? It seems like a lot or articles i read are about marketing your RE business with tons of cash at hand to make offers on multiple properties at once, i just don’t have a roll that big yet but really want to get to that level. I know the question is very general but any advice would be appreciated. Thnx for your time.

You have the right idea, build a bankroll first.
You have a capital that you can use to buy and flip properties (wholesale): basically short sales, REO and other distressed properties are good candidates for this scenario. You wouldn’t have to buy them per se: you write an option contract, use your funds as proof of funds with lenders who sell these properties, and then sell them at wholesale. You can do several properties at a time this way and never really use your money - only as proof of funds or to bring to closing before flipping (same day you get your money back.)