New to investing

I’m new to real estate investing and looking for the effective ways to get more profit from it. Can you share some of your strategies or tips? I will be thankful for your advice.

Hi Kate. If you want maximum profits from real estate investment, you can either purchase a foreclosed property and sell it at a higher price or you can put the house on rent. Buying a foreclosed property can be a great deal. However, post buying the property, you must be ready to invest in property preservation. After property maintenance, you can put the house on sale at higher price. On the other hand, renting a property is also a great deal. Make sure that the house is properly maintained and all the utilities are in working condition.

Good luck!

One way to get ahead quickly in real estate is to add value to the properties you buy.

You should know Mistakes Of a New Real Estate Investor
Mistakes to Avoid When Investing in Real Estate.

This is a good idea and helpful. Thanks.

Okay, Kate…

The effective way to get more money, is to find better deals. You’ll get better at this as you gain experience. At this point, effectively making more profit is tantamount to actually making ‘any’ profit whatsoever.

Otherwise, ‘more profit’ is a relative term.

Go find better and better deals. That’s how you effectively get more profit.

In order to start investing, you first have to determine the amount of capital, time, and risk you are willing to devote to an investment. If you are willing to take on more risk in a shorter time span, I would recommend value-add deals.

Value-add deals can produce high rates of returns. Investors in these deals look for under-utilized properties that have the potential to be improved. They then improve or repurpose the property to increase the value.

I would also recommend reading the book Investing in Real Estate Private Equity by Sean Cook in order to gain a fundamental understanding of real estate investing.