New to investing - possible deal has dropped in my lap

Hello my name is jeff. I live in jacksonville fl.

I’m new to investing and a possible deal has just dropped in my lap.

My wife has a friend (fr1) that entered a deal with another friend (fr2) to purchase a house. The house was purchased back in june for $74k. Fr1 put $12k down and Fr2 signed a loan for the remainder of the purchase by getting a $62k VA loan.

The house was purchased in Fr2’s name with Fr1 nowhere to be found on any paper work pertaining to the house. Fr2 did put in a will that the house was Fr1’s house.

The agreement was that Fr1 would make the payments til the loan was paid off and the house would be hers. Fr1 has stopped making payments as of Oct. So the house is currently 3 months behind. PMI is $550 @ month.

Fr1 was going to get the money for the arrears on the loan from my wife. That’s how we got involved. Fr2 is 75 yrs old and doesn’t care at this point if the house goes into foreclosure. Fr1 has no intentions on paying the arrears because Fr2 is sick and fears his daughter will take the home somewhere down the road.

We have advised Fr1 to speak with Fr2 and his daughter but Fr1 refuses and is going to try and stay in the house for 3 more months.

Sorry for long post…but just trying to figure out if there is something here. My wife and i have a relative moving down and the house would be perfect for them to move into @ $700-$750 @ month. So month to month would be covered. We have the money for the arrears and fees for up to 9 months if necessary. Taxes for the year have already been paid. House shows on tax assessors website as being $57k tax assessed value and just market value of $61k.

I would assume this would be an assignment of some sort if we could get Fr2 and daughter to agree to it. But i’m not sure because of VA loan what type of agreement.

Your thoughts…

Issue: