New Questions

hi everyone.

i am just getting started with real estate investing and looking at rental properties for cash flow, and hopefully capital appreciation, opportunities. I have bought houses and land before and done well with that but never rentals.

i have also formed an llc to get started and have a good amount of capital to work with.

question. most books say borrow borrow borrow to buy the property and have the rents pay the mortgage and expenses. some properties however the cash flow is minimual if i were to borrow the majority of the amounts. however if i put down more and borrow less the cash flow comes out much better (of course). So my question is this. With this in mind should i borrow as much as i can regardless of cash flow?

also any tips on getting over the paralasys by analysis problem? after looking at cap rates, rate of returns, etc. seems like the more rental properties i look at they all start to look the same.

thanks for any tips.

what is a good amount of capital? meaning, what are you considering a “good amount”? that is a relative term.

your questions all depend on what you plan to do.

if you want to build your rei portfolio slow and steady, then putting a good amount down on a good property is a wise choice. as long as you leave yourself a good amount of funds liquid to manage it.

there are so many different ways to conduct your re investing, that’s what makes it a very good financial choice - it gives you control.

some people will talk alot about “net worth” and others will talk about “cash is king” and on and on.

the main thing is that you manage your re investing as a business. cash is extremely important to any business. you can have everything else looking wonderful, but if you don’t have cash, your business will die.

that’s how i’ve approached rei so far. i’m not concerned with “analysis of whatever”. if you’ve done some deals already, then you certainly aren’t stuck in that.