new investor with high income

Hi All,

My annual income is in the 6-digits and I’m looking for investments that will lower my tax load. I live in CA, and I don’t own any real estate.

My idea is to buy a run down home or multiplex, maybe live in it, fix it up, rent out the other units and then sell it in 2 or more years when the market picks up. The housing market seems depressed right now.

I’m also studying to become a real estate Broker.

I heard that there are $25k tax deduction limits per investment property, but the rules are different for real estate agents? Is this true?

I also read that if I live in the home, I would be more restricted in what I could use for tax deductions. I’m not sure what the rules are if I live in a multiplex and rent the other units out.

What is the best method for reducing my income tax load why turning a good investment?

Thanks.

When I invest I invest to make money. In real estate one of the things you get is tax free income. For example if you buy a house for $100,000 and take out an $80,000 mortgage. You have PITI of around $800/month. If you rent the house for $1,000/month you make $200/month cash flow before taxes or $2,400/year. When you depreciate the house (subtract land) on your taxes you will depreciated it over 27 ½ years. If the house basis is $80,000 then you take $2,900/year off of your taxes. That means you made that $2,400 tax free.

I don’t know the market in California, but in Houston where I am you can buy that $100,000 house for $50,000 and end up with cash flow of around $400 to $500. You buy 10 of them and then you are making enough money to go and get a house to live in instead of living in an apartment.