Need Your Opinion on SS Deal - Sherrifs Sale Feb 11th & Just getting started!

Hey Guys,

I am a newbie and would love your guys opinions and help… I am trying to do a short sale deal with a home financed with a 1st and 2nd with country wide… 1st is for ~$167K the 2nd is ~185K… So total ~$352K and home owner is behind (on both) by about 11 months, NOW house FMV is ~200-250K… Now this is pretty late but i want to try and do a SS…

I contacted CountryWide and they said to provide a purchase agreement, a HUD1, a hardship letter and the homeowners w2… The home owner has been unemployed for the better part of 2 years and has no job and basically used his savings to pay his mortgages

The Kicker here is the SHERIFFS SALE IS FEB 11th… So in 6 days!

My questions:

1. If i submit an offer will CW hold of on the sherrifs sale till we can talk and negotiate? Or is it just too late?

2. What should i offer on a house like this? Its a 5 bedroom 3 bath, 4 story house…

3. What happens with the 2nd, since both are with country wide should i just give them an offer to cover both loans?

4. What is the standard negotiating procedure?

Your help is greatly appreciated!

-Karim

What state is the property located in?

Some states it’s not difficult to postpone a sale date (not expensive), others it’s very expensive and the bank will only postpone if seller/buyer pays the postponement fee.

Hi,

This is in Minnesota.

If you have any opinions on the other questions that would be helpful as well…

Thanks,
Karim

I am in MN. You could probably get the SS postponed if you have a valid contract but you dont need to because there is a 6 month redemption period for the homeowner.

If you need some help running comps on the property and some help walking through this I can help you. I have a Real Estate License and am a Realtor and all I do is Short Sale/Foreclosure work.

My contact information is in my Forum Profile.

JD

Hi Justin,

So a short sale can be done after the foreclosure?