NEED HELP WITH OFFER

OK! I AM A NEW INVESTOR AS WELL AS NEW TO DOING SHORT SALES. I WAS BEGINNING TO THINK THAT MAYBE SHORT SALES WASN’T THE RIGHT PLACE TO START FOR A NEWBIE. ANYWAYS, I HAVE BEEN WORKING ON MY FIRST SHORT SALE FOR ALMOST 3 MONTHS NOW. I HAVE BEEN GETTING THE RUN AROUND FROM THE BANK. BUT FINALLY TODAY I WAS ABLE TO TALK TO A LOSS MITIGATION REP WHO QUICKLY DISMISSED MY FIRST OFFER, AND TOLD ME TO HE WOULD COUNTER FOR 200K WHICH I EXPLAINED TO HIM WAS WAY TO MUCH, SO HE TOLD ME TO SEND HIM A SECOND OFFER TODAY. OK MY QUESTION IS WHAT SHOULD MY SECOND OFFER BE? I DON’T WANT TO GO TO LOW OR TO HIGH.

HERE ARE THE NUMBERS:

THE ORIGINALLY MORTGAGE WAS 124K BUT WITH LATE FEES THE HOMEOWNERS NOW OWE 132K. THE HOUSE NEEDS AROUND 35K WORTH OF REPAIRS( PLUS IT HAS MOLD). MY FIRST OFFER WAS 46K I WAS THINKING ABOUT OFFERING 60-65K FOR THE SECOND OFFER. THE COMPS ARE BETWEEN 90-96K FOR HOMES IN THE AREA.

NEED ADVICE!!! TRYING TO SUBMITT SECOND OFFER TODAY

Yes, short sales are definitely not the best place to start if you haven’t any training or mentoring. The key to getting a deal on a short sale is the BPO. Banks go off the BPO and in general won’t let it go for less than the 82% of BPO. Any idea what the BPO came in at?

The other part of this is you buy based on your numbers, not what the bank wants. If you can’t get it at the price you need, you move on. The price you buy it at depends on your exit strategy.

The fact that he countered at 200K when only 132K is owed tells me he thinks you don’t know what you are doing.

THANK YOU FOR RESPONDING TO MY POST. HE SAID THE APPRAISAL FOR THE HOUSE WAS 162K. BUT I SUBMITTED A SECOND OFFER FOR 68K. SO I WILL SEE HOW IT TURNS OUT.

Keysha,
You are right in the fact that short sales and foreclosures are a tough place to start for a newbie. There is a lot to these transactions and not having any experience can cross you up.