Need help with my first rentals ever

I just picked up two SFR on owner financing, and I am looking to do some rehab work to them and turn them into rentals. I have no prior experience with landlording what so ever, and so I am in serious need of some quick education.

So here’s where I am at: I’ve closed on the properties and I am now in the process of rehabbing them. And I have a tenant lined up for each.

I need to prescreen them, then have them sign rental agreements, and then put down a ‘earnest’ money check, or whatever you may call it so that if they back out during the rehab phase they lose that money, and I need that structured in the contract.

Does anyone have or know where to get a paper to fill out for prescreening that I can hand them to fill out, AND rental agreements that include earnest money amount, security deposit etc?

Also I need to know how to run background checks, etc. And what else should I look out for?

Also How do I determine what my properties SHOULD rent/lease for?
Do I need to transfer the Power bill/utilities into my name, and then have them pay me, or how does that work where they pay all those bills if they’re in my name?

Also, I want to set it up so that my loan payment to the seller’s is an auto withdrawal out of my account each month to their’s, but how do I set it up so that I have receipt of payment towards loan?

OK. I’ll try to give you what you need to get started.

First, you need to learn your state’s landlord/tenant laws. For Oregon, check here:
http://www.osbar.org/public/legalinfo/tenant.html

You have to know your legal procedures there for eviction, what you can and can’t do with respect to your tenants, etc.