NEED HELP ASAP! Lease Option VS. Land Contract

Hello Everyone:

I am relatively new to investing and am pursuing full-time. This is my first post to the REI forum. I joined several weeks ago and have gained quite a bit of knowledge and insight reading many of the posts. The information provided is truly invaluable. After having spent thousands and thousands of dollars on Real Estate “Guru” seminars, there are still some “missing links”. Thank you all for your contributions.

I hope to place a contract on a SFR in Virginia. I plan to live in this property. As an exit strategy, I am not sure if I should do a Lease Option Purchase or Land Contract? Here’s the scenario:

• Owner is military and has orders to leave country in 1 month.
    He wants to unload the house. Wants to sell for $240,000
  • Owner purchased home in January 2007 for $233,000. Comparable
    home in development recently sold for $237,000. The high end is
    $245,000. There is virtually no equity in this property.
  • 2 Story, 4BR/2.5 Bath, LR, DR, Great Room, Eat-in kitchen
  • Approx. 1680 sq. ft, One car garage
  • Located on dead end street
  • Great neighborhood and in mint condition

I submitted an offer yesterday for a lease purchase option, containing the following:

• Sales Price: $235,500
  • Promissory Note for $4,500 (negotiated payable within 6 months.
    Funds needed to payoff carpet financing)
  • 3-year lease option with the ability to sublease
  • Monthly payments are equal to PITI (approx. $1630, interest rate
    is 5.5%)
  • Option fee will probably be $50
  • I will pay first $100 of repair costs
  • Move-in date is November 1.

This property will be my primary residence. However, rather than purchase within 2-3 years, I would prefer to refinance. Consequently, I thought a land contract would be better. The contract could simply state that at a specified time, (within 2 years) title would be transferred to me. I am not sure if I can do this with a lease option purchase.