need advice

Im just getting into real estate. I don’t plan to do this for a career, but I want a source of GOOD income while i go to school for my career of interest. I want to do this part time so as to not get in the way of school. what are the best venues to invest in?

Foreclosures?
Fixer Uppers?
Reo?
Distressed Property?

or any other ways to do real estate successfuly on a part time basis.

PLUS what is a good place to start with in Money starting out?

What can I SAFELY get away with as far as start up money

Hi Fontana,

I just wanted to give you some encouragement on your plans of getting into real estate. I see that you’re a college student or are about to be. Anyways, I got involved with real estate while I was in college. I was a nontraditional student who was already an RN, going back to get a 2nd degree. It was during this time that I got involved. I think being a nurse gave me a little more financial leeway and upfront capital.

Using terms like foreclosre, REO, rehab, etc is really kind of fluid. For example, a house I bought this week was a foreclosure REO (bank owned) property that needed some rehab. It’s kind of all the “distressed” properties rolled into one. What really attracted me to real estate was the idea that I could make money using other people’s money. I saved up about $5k. Then I went shopping around for the best investor or hard money lender I could find. The bank I work with gives me 80% of the after-repair-value of a home. So the house I bought this week was appraised at $75,000 and my contractor said he could restore it for $14,000. I only paid $40,000 for the house. I stand to make >$13,000 on the deal and all I had to pay was the $2500 dollar deposit when I made my offer. Pretty sweet huh. The great thing is, you can do it too. So to answer your question I guess I am a little partial to rehab work and REO properties.

Step 1-Real Estate education
Step 2-finding a lender that’s right for you