My first year in real estate

I’ve been doing this real estate thing for a little over year now, and I want to share some of the things they don’t tell you. In fact there are plenty of things they won’t tell you. The “gurus” at least. The one thing I can tell anyone starting out, is a GOOD mentor is a must. How can you find one? The local real estate clubs.

Don’t be fooled by real estate clubs though. They are full of noobs, sleaze balls, and money hungry greedy crooks… Okay, okay, not everyone in there is a bad guy. Networking is very important, but you should be careful with who.

My first mentor, I met at the local big club. My first successful -if you can call it that- deal went so bad because of this guy, a full year later, Both buyer and seller are threatening to sue me. It’s okay the problem was taken care of and thats a whole different story for a different time. Being a noob myself a year ago I had no idea what to do, so naturally I did what the internet told me… Go to your local club. I just had a poor choice in mentor, but how was I suppose to know!? Some of these people will just ride you for a quick dollar.

When you let the club know you have a deal and want to work with someone, people will jump on you like flies on s***. Especially if you ask for mentoring. You have to be careful, who you deal with. One thing I’ve learned is you must treat the situation, like you are hiring someone. Don’t let them push you around, especially if you are a young investor. I’m currently 27 years old, and I tend to catch flak from older folks, even though I have ways to make them tons of money with my innovative thinking.

Anyways, I’ve gone through like 6 mentors or something like that? They either screw me, or don’t perform in a timely manner, or lied about things… Oh yeah. I won’t hesitate to find someone else. Essentially you and your mentor are a team. Would you want a rock star quarterback on your team, or a lazy bum?