My first investment "opportunity"

I am researching commercial real estate in my town and looking to invest if I can find a good opportunity. I have no experience in commercial, but am trying to learn all I can. I would appreciate a
any feedback/suggestions on this investment:

•2 unit Commercial retail building 7500 sq ft, built in the year 2000 (steel building with brick front)
•Owner (music shop) occupies about 6000 sq ft unit and has beauty salon as a tenant in the second unit (1500 sq ft) beauty salon pays $12/sq ft per year to owner = $18,000/year
• salon is a great established business and would like to expand to 2,500 sq ft
• Music shop would like to reduce to 1,500 sq ft… this leaves about 3,500 sq ft
• This would require splitting the 6,000 sq ft unit into 2 units making a total of 3 units (3,500, 2,500 and 1,500 sq ft) and adding a door for the new unit.
• Owner is asking $494,900 for building, taxes are $8,000/year
• Owner is motivated to sell and sell soon.
• Lets assume everyone (including tbd new tenant) pays $12/sq ft rent = $90,000/year, $7,500/month
• Building is in good part of town where growth is, but not in the high rent ($20 -$25 sq ft) area, but very close to the high rent area.
I am trying to figure my roi, cap rate, etc… and what sales price would make it a good investment… trying to figure out if this is a good opportunity or not and if I could survive with that new 3,500 sq ft space empty for a while (I am trying to recruit a well established bike shop to move into the space)

I admit I don’t know a lot about the workings of commercial financing… interest rate, years on the loan, down payment, closing costs, etc

I have learned a lot already, but still have a long way to go… thanks for any help!

Sorry for the double post! I don’t see a way to delete the other one :frowning:

TNF,

Do you have any residential real estate experience?