My Dilemma

So I have decided that I want to invest (and live) in a residential multi family unit. More than likely, a duplex or triplex at first to learn what I can with fewer tenants.

Here is my dilemma-
-As posted earlier, im a recently separated vet attending school with my GI bill.
-No income apart from the reserves which is about ~$300 a month, and my housing money from the VA as part of the GI bill which only last about 30 more months.
-No foreseeable income in the near future apart from part time jobs (poor income) as im a full time student.

Now, ideally I would purchase a multi unit property that needed some work within the next 3 months. I would not be overly worried about cash flow immediately, as my GI bill payment + my roommate (longtime girlfriend) can easily pay the mortgage. But as I said earlier, my payments will run out in 30 months, and I will still be a student. By then, IDEALLY, i would have positive cash flow and my payments will be slightly reduced, but I will still more than likely be working part time for pocket change and living off student loans. Will that pocket change be enough to pay the bills? Who knows.

There is too much speculation in my equation which makes me nervous about the whole thing… I know most of you have a 9-5 that supports your RE on the side. If you were in a similar position, would you buy the property? Or would you play it safe and continue to rent until financially set in a career before rolling the dice

Since you plan to finance the purchase, how do you expect to be approved for a loan with no sustainable source of income? Since your GI bill benefits are temporary, I don’t expect a lender will consider them as enduring income that can be used to repay the loan.

Do you already have financing in place?

I would only consider doing that if you found a really, really, really cheap property. That depends a lot on where you live. If you are in New York or San Francisco … forget it.