motovated new guy

Hey to all-

I am new to REI, and thankful that I found this sight. I have been in sales for years and am currently working as a mortgage broker. I see that there is potential for big bucks in flipping L/Os and would like to focus on that to start off.
Assuming that I find a “motovated seller,” and they just want out. Lets say that they have 30k in equity, and are 5k behind. They are willing to do an option with me to save their credit and to get collectors off their back. Now should I come out of pocket right away with the 5k to bring the mortgage to current? Lets say I have a potential investor lined up… I tell them I have a property with twenty five thousand in equity that I will sell my exclusive option to for say 10k. Is that how it works, and how realistic am I being with these numbers.
To fill you in on my current situation a bit more… I have a limited budget to start say in the 10k area with fair credit rating. What I do have is a lot of ambition and a strong sales and closing ability. I am just trying to talk it out here, I want in. Any imput would be most helpful.

thanks again,
Rocketrider, its Successors and/or Assigns

opps I am motivated, not moto-vated. oi io they are right togeather…

there are many ways to do pre-foreclosures, but the way you propose has one major problem. You plunk down $5k and get the owners bacon out of the fire and you get a piece of paper with a contract. (not a great idea). You want the TITLE. Otherwise, you got no leverage and once the heat is off the owner he will pretend like he has never met you. Sure you can sue them to enforce the purchase option, but that more time and money and they may go BK on you. You want to buy out their equity at some rate (say 50% discount) and take title to the property subject to the exist lien(s). On most cases you want to send them packing and then re-sell or rent it.