Motivated sellers for wholesaling easy to find, NOT!

THe purpose of this post is simply to get some ideas/motivation for myself, because I’m starting to get frustrated. I see tons of posts on here that getting motivated sellers is the easy part, but buyers is the hard part. I’m getting frustrated in trying to find sellers. I am very new to this so I’m sure theres something I’m missing or not doing right.

I’ve only done 1 deal (which I go through CL) but it fell through. In that case I had a TON of buyers asking me about it just through advertising the property, so I don’t quite see why finding buyers is such a hard thing. If a deals a deal, then it’s going to get seen and picked up.

The ways I’ve tried marketing so far are as follows:

Driving around - Man I hear people talking about the deals they found doing this, but with my luck I never find anything!!! I’ve drivin for hours all over different parts of Dallas. I go to just average areas (not crack areas and not expensive areas).

CL and news classifieds - The only things I see on both of these are overpriced properties (not motivated sellers). The deal I found through this was through a wholesaler and NOT a motivated seller. the way the deal would have worked out was him assigning me the contract and then me in turn assigning mine out.

Pre-foreclosure list - Why did I spend the $50 for the list for this month??! I mean you buy this list and with only about 20 days prior to auction have to find some way to either direct mail or call them AND close the deal before it goes to auction. This is likely impossible, unless you call/door knock. Out of the 70 people or so I’ve looked up, I’ve only been able to find about 10 public phone #'s total. Out of those 10, no one picked up and I was only able to leave VM messages for 2. About 5 of them were disconnected. Unless there’s something I’m missing, talk about a waste of time…