Modular Home Rentals?

I have been floating around the idea of buying a plot of land in my city, and putting some modular /manufactured homes on the site and renting them. Something like this http://www.dreamhomesalesinc.com/images/content/modular-homes/ambler-modular-home-ranch-1476.jpg

The area is about 3 acres, i think I should be able to get about 25 units on the site.

Has anyone ever done this? Are there any problem with this kind of rental units i.e, are they difficult to rent?

Any thought would be much appreciated, as I am a n00b in this business and have not have as much foresight as many of you do.

Thanks.

Sounds like a pretty rambunctious idea! Not sure I would reccomend it to a total newbie. Do you have the financial ability to prepare/carry the property and purchase the units? Where are you going to obtain the financing?

I have several other businesses that I actually built my self, including 2 gas stations. I also have real good relationship with the bank that does most of my loans. I would have about 20% down payment. The fiance will not be that big of a problem.

But you really really think this is too much for a first timer? Even if they have business experience and the capital.

Whats the cost per sq ft for these homes? Just the building system not, concrete, utilities, etc…

I have not looked into all the details yet. That is one reason for posting in this forums. What kind of cost am I looking at? and What is a good cost per unit that is 2 bedroom, about 1200 feet?

If anyone can point me to any information or a page that explain this in detail, I would greatly appreciate it.

Start by visiting the local p,annoying department at your city or county. This will answer most questions and save you much time.

Hi wftw,