Minimum standards for tenants

Hello Everyone,

I am very new to real estate, I wanted to know if any of you who are landlords and have tenants have some sort of minimum standards that you go by when deciding which applicants you are going to rent your units to?  If so what are some of the items that you look at before accepting them.  Thank You!

Nicholas

I like PropertyManager’s criteria for low income, very well thought out. It filters enough to keep the real trash out but with low income you can filter too much or you will have no tenants. Seems to be a perfect sweetspot:

1. has been evicted in the past 5 years 2. has had their utilities shut off in the past year 3. has had any felony in the past 5 years 4. has had more than 2 misdemeanors in the past 5 years 5. has had ANY drug activity in the past 5 years

In addition, I look at the credit report for evidence of recent credit problems. I do not use a score. I also do an employment check and check with their past 2 landlords. Finally, I judge them based on their appearance and character as Frank said.

Thanks Rich,

I assume that I can find most of that if I do a credit and criminal background check.
  1. You’ll find this out when you check with the local housing court. In CT this is actually freely available online through the state.

2. This will probably turn up on the credit report. Many utility companies flag your credit if you don’t pay them. You may be able to ask the utility company directly.

3. Your criminal background check can tell you this. You can get the background check through a paid service or often for free from your local police dept.

4. See #3

5. See #3

Ps- I’m going to move this to the landlording forum.

Would you say it is a good idea or bad idea to raise the rent amount to cover utilities that way you know the utilities will be paid and the water or heat isn’t going to be shut off in the middle of winter.