Mineral Rights Question

A posting on another forum got me thinking about mineral rights.

I have some general knowledge about how mineral rights are treated, but I also had a specific question about how to track down a mineral right interest.

Here’s the deal: I have some acreage in the country in Texas that I acquired a few years ago. I have half of the mineral rights on this property. The other half of the mineral rights were sold to a trustee in 1962.

Supposedly, the land was explored for oil and gas years ago, but nothing was ever found.
I don’t care about drilling on it myself, but I want to know how to recover the other half of the mineral rights from whomever owns them now. I don’t want the other mineral right owner(s) drilling on the land, which they can currently do if they want to explore it further.

How can I locate the other owners to see if they will sell back the old mineral right interest?

The address on the 1962 deed is no good. There have been no other conveyances of this interest recorded. I cannot locate the trustee on the deed from 1962.

Is there any other method to use that will prevent the other mineral right owners from exercising their rights to explore?

Thanks in advance for any advice or information!

Hey,
Valgolas:I think you made a typo. You said “I have some acreage in the country IN Texas.” Didn’t you mean, “I have some acreage in the country OF Texas?” LOL.