Methods of collecting rent

Hi everyone, I’m new to investment property and I would like to ask a very newbie question. So I’m living in Seattle and I have a 3bd/3ba townhome, I’m planning to rent the rooms out/rent it to a family because I’ll be moving to California for a while. I don’t have a physical address that I will be staying at in California yet so I can’t ask them to mail me the check. Is there alternatives so that they can send me money while I’m in California? I have a Bank Of America account I know there is a charge of wiring money($20?), what’s the best way/cheapest way to receive my rent? Thank you everyone!

There are some online rent collection services available. You can search for them. One example is clearnow. You could also set up a separate B of A acct just for rent and give your tenants a deposit card where they could deposit the money directly into that acct from an ATM.

thank you. and in the second case, do they also have access to withdraw the money?

No. My understanding is that you can get them a card where they can only make deposits. Bluemoon06 was doing this for his rentals. That’s where I heard about it. I haven’t personally tried the online clearinghouse companies either. I just know they’re an option. Most of our tenants don’t have checking accts so we just have them mail money orders. I’m also not sure if the local bank we use will let us get multiple deposit cards like that.