Mentors

I am new to REI and im looking to invest in small apartment complex and hould for 2 years and sell but I get the nervouse about making my first dea…I’m affraid I’ll make a mistake how to over come the fear???
ANY INPUT APPRECIATED :cry:

Howdy Islander:

I think we all have those buyer’s remorse thoughts from buying shoes to which insurance company to use to buying small apartment buildings. What if I could have gotten a better deal somewhere else? Is this what I really want to do for the rest of my life? Is she the girl or guy that I want to marry? Decisions are hard to make in all aspects of life. I try to work with what I call “no brainers”. I shop at garage sales and get shirts for a dollar and blue jeans for $5 or less. With this type buying who cares if you make a bad decision, you just toss it and get another one. I too try to buy real estate like this. If I have to think about it too much whether it is a good deal or not I will usually find out that it is not. I just looked at a 4 plex for $90,000 and on the way there I was thinking how great a deal it sounds, I can rent for $550 per unit and make the payments even if two units are vacant. I knew it had to be a deal. The whole street was vacant almost and the two units that were rented at another property were only $450. The ground on the street was such poor soil that the units were leaning so bad that you could hardly stand up in the property without holding on to the walls. I exaggerate a bit but I now knew why it was still for sale and my “no brainer” deal turned into a “no brainer” for sure. You would have to have no brain to buy this building.