market conditions

Hi all :slight_smile:
I’m curious what is everyone’s forecast going into 2004/2005?
I’m probably moving from Los Angeles to Austin later this
year if my fiancee gets into UT for grad school (crosses fingers).

It looks like appreciation is much lower in Austin than California?
This still means you can make good money, but means you
have to make more money on the cash-flow side and less
money on appreciation? Compared to Los Angeles / California
where you are often cash flow negative at first but do well
with appreciation? Though it seems risk of a bubble collapse
is much lower in Austin than California.

I’m still learning-- haven’t done a successful deal yet myself.
I looked at forclosures in Los Angeles but they all seemed
to be within 5% of true market value, so didn’t seem to
be enough room for profit to make it worth the extra
work to go to the courthouse, etc. We ended up buying
our own starter house in LA at retail price, though got lucky
with appreciation. We sold after just owning the house
1.5 years since I had some health problems in the area
relating to the smog and pollen.

If we move to Austin, we are thinking of buying a duplex
and live in 1 of the units to sort of ease us into being an
investor/landlord for the first time.

Any advice for a beginner? Since this is our first
investment per say, we don’t mind if we leave something
on the table as long as we gain some experience and
come out ok. Ie we don’t need to buy this house for
20% less than true value, we would be happy getting
it for 10% less. Ie if we can buy a duplex that is really
worth 200K for 180K and have 20K instant equity I
would be very happy. I know some of you are good enough
to buy that same house for 160K that takes a lot of
skill and knowledge than we will have initially.

Thanks in advance!
-Taric

Welcome!