Management company and breaking leases

Here’s my dilemma, I own a condo in Palm Springs, CA and have a management company renting it out for me. They placed a tenant there several months ago with a years lease. We had a few issues early on with plumbing, and window blinds which I addressed and paid them to fix immediately upon being notified.

Now, the tenant is threatening to break her lease and move out if we don’t give her a free month’s rent for enduring aforementioned plumbing problems (which we fixed the very same day we were notified of, remember).

First, it seems to me this is exactly why I have a management co., to deal with these kinds of problems with tenanants, so why I am even being bothered?

Second, seeing as how the mananement co. screened and placed this tenant, either they or the tenant should be liable to fulfill the terms of the lease, right?

Please advise!!

Thanks a million.

Archer,

I am NOT a lawyer (and don’t play one on TV) but here’s my two cents:

A lease works two ways and is binding upon both parties. The landlord agrees to provide inhabitable dwelling space and the tenant agrees to paid the agreed upon rent on time and to maintain the unit to a certain standard (certainly their are more responsibilities on both sides)…

In this case, the tenant is trying to work you over for free rent. If you, indeed, fixed the problems the day notified, then at worst, they were inconvenienced for a day and if push-came-shove, you might ‘owe’ them a day of rent refund…doubtfully, though.

If they, however, break the lease early for no provable cause, they are still liable, per the contract, for the rent for the months remaining on the lease. Could you collect? Possibly but not probably.