Making the payments on Subject to:

First let me preface this by saying I’m in PA, so I’m doing my first Sub2 without the use of a land trust (Pa is apparently one of the few states that imposes the transfer tax on a land trust in this situation). My question is simply on the best plan for making the mortgage payments, would it be to use some kind of loan servicing company? Any and all suggestions would be appreciated.

All in,

Glad to meet you.

I have been using Loan Servicing Companies (LSC) for about 15 years to service my buyers payments.

My reasoning is and has been, that the payments go to a Licensed and Bonded company and then forwarded to the lender, which looks good in the eyes of the seller and buyer. We have all heard of the payments sent directly to an investor that did not reach the lender in Subject To deals, although in the minority it still causes concerns for buyers and sellers.

The LSC also provides your buyer if using a Contract for Deed an accounting of the interest paid for tax purposes at the end of the year. Also they can provide a payment history, which is recognized by a lender when your buyer’s time comes to re-finance the property. If you have a pack payment as monthly passive income they will send you this money when you request it.

The major LSC’s are online so you can check your account and see if your payments are being received in a timely manner.

It also is just one less thing you have to concentrate on when out doing Subject To deals and helps keep you focused.

John $Cash$ Locke

$Cash$,
Thanks for the response, would I be out of line to ask for recommendations for loan servicing companies? The offer I made Friday didn’t end up sub2 (don’t feel bad for me, I did get the deal and it will be a good one) but I just see lots of opportunities for me to get agressive on Sub2 and this would be a great tool to have going forward. :deal

All in,