low bid on HUD

Has anyone ever purchased a HUD property for less than their asking price?

I’m looking at a 1993 double wide - 1700 Sq Fft - that according to their own property report needs around $5k of repairs (I’m sure that is about half of what it needs to be saleable)- new roof, repair septic, secure underpinning etc. The property was bought for $72,900 in 2002 by the last owner (before HUD), appraised for tax at $39k in 2004. HUD are asking $48,600 (after reduction from $54,000).

Property has just over half acre lot, cul-de-sac, walking distance from a lake with boating, hunting and fishing in SC.

My thoughts were to go in with a bid of $40k spend $10k on rehab then offer for $75k hopefully for a quick sale - obviously if appraisor agrees with my est of $75k for ARV.

No experience with mobile/manufactured homes (or anything for that matter as I’m new to REI) just mulling things around in my head and wondered what you experienced folks think?

Dave N

I have one HUD…it was listed for $54K and I bought it for $51,500 all cash about 16 months ago. I did fixups and put a renter in at $650 (now $675) and it would sell now for about $65-67K.

Your numbers are not out of the realm of possibility…it is about 82% of asking, so they may go for it. But it may be below their established threshold.

Keith

getting them to take you $40k is very do-able; especially if it been on the listing for awhile with no bids (check the bid stats).

being about to flip it for $75k; that seems to be optimistic, but I’m not a double wide expert. validate that number with some comps or hard stats

Sure. My first property was a HUD f/c. Listed for $112k, bought for $101k, and worth $130k the day I put in my offer. Worth ~$140k today.