loopnet stories

is loopnet any good for finding deals? if not, is it still a good resource (ex. finding comps, rents in market, etc.)
is there any good ways to find deals (direct mail, etc) or are we all just looking for a needle in a haystack. im trying to stay with true 10% caps or higher being that we are in a depreciating (or soon to be depreciating market, IMO)

thanks
adam

I posted this a while back: http://www.reiclub.com/forums/index.php/topic,31968.0.html

I work as an Acquisition Analyst for a real estate firm and I have my own properties. My professional and personal use i use Loopnet a lot. It’s great for comps and it’s great for seeing whats on the market in your neighborhood. It’s definitely not easy to find a gem. It takes a lot of looking and analysis. I do agree that a lot of listings have cap rates that are very inaccurate, but that’s what your analysis is for.

As far as direct marketing. It should work, but I haven’t seen it work in SoCal. We have a person in the office that does direct marketing fulltime. So far he had no purchase. i am sure if he was looking in a different market he would have a lot higher chances of success.

i figured, thanks for the feedback, but i definetly will use it for comps, etc

I use it all the time for a few different reasons.
We can run searches of active properties listed by brokers who i know are trustworthy. IN that way, we can estimate currently rental rates, sales prices, and expenses on properties currently listed. You can also use it for limited demographics and trending.

If you want real comps on properties sold or leased, you’ll need to subscribe or buy one off comps. We’ve done that as well and found them to be very accurate.

Many legitimate brokers use the loopnet service and contribute to updating their info.

Overall, i think its a great site.

I like to look at loopnet from time to time just to see what is listed in my area.