Lookout! Another newbie here!

Greetings realestate guru’s!

I am ready to make the leap and begin flipping. I am a 32 years old and have been around construction my entire life. I know all the ins and outs of what makes a good home a good home. Where I lack is the actual formulas or deal models. What set of numbers do you recommend I use to be as safe as possible in this uncertain market? You know, what its worth before versus what its worth after. Is one price range safer than another? Thanks for any and all repies!

My formula is very simple.

Add the cost of buying to the cost of fixing and holding. Subtract that number from the price you can sell it for.

Are you happy with the figure you end up with? Then it is a good project.

You probably are not going to be successful in flipping unless you know your market well enough to know what repair costs are and what sales prices are. Actual sales prices, not asking prices, and how low you have to go to move a property.

Unless someone is working in the exact neighborhood you plan to work in, they are not going to be able to give any decent guesses about figures or about what sells and what doesn’t.

You have a good background so I can see you wholesaling (to get you use to finding the super cheap houses) and then eventually turning to your passion of construction. You will get them cheap, make them structurally sound, and make fat profits.

You are in the right place. Good luck with your endeavors. :beer