looking to expand in 2011

This is my first post, not only in 2011, but ever. I am a licensed real estate inspector in Houston and I want to start wholesale investing. Can anyone recommend step1, step 2…etc.

I’ll take a shot Erick - the first thing I recommend to people that are looking into wholesaling is to figure out how much time they can devote to wholesaling. We spend about 4 hours every day working in this business. That’s getting out our marketing, talking to buyers and sellers, getting deals under contract, getting them inspected and sold, etc. etc. It’s getting up every Saturday at 5 am to put up signs. It’s getting out driving the neighborhoods to find vacant houses. It’s hard work, but if you do it consistently (like every day), you can be successful at this business. But if someone wants to find a deal here and there and try and make a few extra bucks because it sounds easy and only work on it a couple hours here and there, it usually doesn’t work out to well.

Think of wholesaling as a job - a good job if you get good at it - but it’s a job and requires that level of time commitment.

So if you’ve made the commitment to block out time every day to work at this business and what specific hours those are and what you will do for each of those hours - the next thing you need to do is figure out what part of town you want to wholesale in. The way we do that is to go to Listsource.com and find out the number of absentee owner PURCHASES in the last 6 months by zip code. You’re not going to actually get a list, so it doesn’t cost anything to do this research. You want to find the areas where there are lots of activity - generally these will be in the lower to middle class areas with lots of rentals. In this market, our main source of buyers is landlords.

Those are the first 2 steps I recommend - let me know if you would like more…