Looking for suggestions

Hi Guys!
I’ve been reading this forum on and off for a while. Now I have an opinion question to ask. I’m relatively new to investing. My first investment was a 6 plex apartment, but I’ve been out of the field for a few months and I’m feeling overwhelmed and perplexed for what steps to take.
I have two homes that I am looking at for purchase. I live in an area where the selling market is extremely hot. Both houses are preforeclosures. One has an estimated 120K in equity; the other has 45K in equity. Both also are around 10K in reinstatement fees.
My financial situation. Beginning second year in self-employment so difficult to get standard loans. Also already own first home so difficult to get owner occupant loan. My equity runs as follows: own home has 80K (but has a 2nd mortgage already) and my apartment complex about 100K. Any suggestions of where to start. lease otion? subject to? Do I have enough equity to seek another loan type even with my self-empooyment? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Sometimes the challenge with real estate is that there are too many options, and for the beginner we can get paralyzed. Thanks.

I agree! There are many many options to choose from which can be overwhelming. If you are looking to get mortgages for you investment properties, then here are a few pointers…(to clarify, these are pointers for residential mortgages, not commercial…the 6-plex would be considered commercial).

Self-employment: This will probably lead you to having to do a stated income loan…although some investors may allow “lite doc” which would only require you to show one year tax returns from being self-employed. Expect a bit of an increase in rate as this is a step up in risk from going full doc.