Looking for financing in PA - first time Investor

I am currently looking to start my new venture in REI in PA (Chester County) and was wondering if someone could assist me or point me in the right direction for finding financing.

I have looked at a few of the hard money lenders listed on the left hand side of this site, but have been told by a few of them already that they only lend to ‘experienced’ or seasoned investors. Obviously, I am not experienced as I’m just starting out.

Please advise if you would.

Thank you.

Talk to local banks. Make a personal financial statement that states all your assets/liabilities with current account balances. Take in the last three years of tax returns. Take a current pay statement. It would also be nice to have a business plan made up. Even if you don’t have the business plan written out, you’ll want to have thought about where you want to go with things and be able to speak intelligently about your plans.
Start your search with regular banks rather than hard money. See where you get. There’s no reason to pay the higher rates of hard money if you can do something thru a bank for a lower rate.

We have had better luck working with smaller “local” banks than larger corporate ones.

Justin:

Your comments and ideas are highly appreciated and definitely make sense. I will get all my info together and go visit with the local (smaller) banks and see whereit takes me.

And regarding the business plan, I actually have been putting one together in writing and just about finished.

Thanks again and I’ll send you a PM with the results in a few weeks or so.

whats your reasoning behind needing a hml?

what zip codes?

You certainly could talk with your local banks about their investor mortgage programs.