Loans through Realtors

Do realtors usually set you up with their contacts for mortgage loans? I have a great mortgage broker contact I would like to use, but if I am using a realtor do I have to use the financing that they set me up with? Thanks!

I am a Realtor In massachusetts, & I undestand that you can use anyone you want. You also have the ability to get quotes from different lenders so they are competing for your business. Just make sure your getting all the info you need as far as points & closing costs. The lenders can give you a copy of a settlement package with the cost for various things such as title fees, attorney fees and so on, most of them are standard. There will only be a few items on the settlement statement that will vary. When a lender says no points they sometimes will add in extra costs on the settlement or increase the intrest rate. Its the old fasioned way of comparing apples to apples just as you would compare a V6 in a car to a V6 not a V8. Even if you have a great broker keep him honest he may be able to do a little beter for you & help explain some of the differences. The only reason I recomend using a specific mrgt. broker is we can rely on them to have specific documents that are needed due to a contract agreement by a certain date, that if not recieved, the buyer could loose what ever is on the line $$$. I always advise getting multiple offers, & I let them know that my broker will 9 times out of 10 beat what they have received. I hope this helps. :slight_smile:

Thank you for the quick reply, yes this helps alot!

CK

I don’t know about other REALTORS, but I have a few mortgage folks which I recommend. The reason for this is that they will not drag their feet or foul something up, because they see me as a future source of business.

A mortgage pro may see Joe Homebuyer who walks in off the street as a one-shot deal and may shortchange him on time and effort.