LLC, scorp, ccorp

Hi all,

I’m new to REI and I’ve been browsing through this forum, and these terms: LLC, scorp, and ccorp, come up quite often. Could someone explain to me what they are? Thank You

A Limited Liability Company (LLC) is a relatively new business structure allowed by state statute. LLCs are popular because, similar to a corporation, owners have limited personal liability for the debts and actions of the LLC. Other features of LLCs are more like a partnership, providing management flexibility and the benefit of pass-through taxation. An LLC may be classified for Federal income tax purposes either as a partnership or a corporation. It is classified as a partnership if it has no more than two of the following corporate characteristics:

Centralization of management
Continuity of life
Free transferability of interests
Limited liability

A C-Corporation is the traditional and most common type of corporation. Forming a C-Corporation allows the company to have an unlimited number of shareholders. This is beneficial to companies which will require many investors, as well as companies who envision offering stock publicly. An inherent benefit of all Corporations and LLCs is that they shield their shareholders from personal liability arising from business debts and business lawsuits

The S-Corporation is similar in structure to that of a C-Corporation, but must meet a few further requirements. In fact, an S-Corporation is initially formed as a C-Corporation by filing the articles of incorporation with the Secretary of State. The C-Corporation can then become an S-Corporation when an extra step is taken by filing with the IRS.

Avoid “Double Tax”