LLC/ASSET PROTECTION/TAXES

I get many opinions on these subjects. I’m currently looking for some reliable insite or direction to someone who can help me. I have two corporations I do business out of. I’m currently selling properties through a single member LLC in State of VA. that I’ll call Buy and Sell, LLC. I buy and sell out of Buy and Sell, LLC because I figure it offers me personal asset protection…Or should I have a LLC and couple it with insurance for extra protection? Also I’m a licensed contractor and run a full time crew with Contractor, LLC and prefer to write checks out of Buy and Sell, LLC so that when Contractor, LLC is audited for workmens comp. I don’t find out my contractors didn’t have it or dropped their coverage. Also, I feel if I pay my licensed electrician out of Buy and Sell, LLC instead of Contractor, LLC he’s a General and not a SubContractor. Correct??? I don’t know. Or should I eliminate Buy and Sell, LLC and start using Trusts again? Or should I use separate entities like I am now. Taxes- Should I keep using differenct corps for buying/selling and contracting or convert Contracting, LLC to S- Corp and have it be Single Member Manager of Buy and Sell, LLC? I’m also a licensed Real Estate Agent. I have a lot different ways that I can be liable…In short can anyone help me with ideas to reduce my potential liability with construction or house resales? Also, any ideas on how reduce my tax exposure?

The idea is to own nothing and control everything. With that in mind I would have an llc for each of your income streams and do not mix them as that pierces the protection that you are trying to set up. I would hold them in another llc with a trust as a 98% partner. With several layers it is harder to find but not impossible. Also look into a limited liability partnership. Your attorney should set these up for nominal fees . And a big insurance policy would not hurt if you can afford it.
Redhawk